Subject: Email 9 : Valparaiso

(02 Dec 2003)

Chaps,

Hotmail has seen fit to change my email. Where is the warning. I am stumbling around blind here. Anyway I will be home soon on the 7th of December, so the great adventure is in its last days. I am currently in Valparaiso, which is on the Pacific coast about an hour and a 1/2 out of Santiago, I’m going to stay here until the 4th. The city is cool, slightly derelict with these cool cable cars everywhere to drag Chilean folk up and down the steep hills, and tourists as well. The hostel I’m staying at is this great old house with a fantastic rooftop view of the bay.

Before coming to Val. I spent 2 days in the very serene La Serana, also on the coast. I stayed at a really friendly hostel where I met a great bunch of people from all over. League of Nations as Arthur Grantham would say.

Prior to La Serena I was at this sleepy, but very tourist orientated hollow called San Pedro de Atacama, which is an oasis in the Atacama desert. It was my first port of call after entering Chile.

My last days in Bolivia were spent going through the salars (salt flats) and looking at the wonderful rock formations, mineral lakes, geysers, mud-pools and such. I probably can’t do justice to it with description so I hope the photos come out, as a close reflection.

I intend to spend the last few days of the trip chilling out, as that is what the Lonely Planet suggests is a good way of avoiding jet lag, and I’m also lazy and have a book to read. So this will probably be the last email.

I hope everyone is well.

Lots of love

Leave a comment